Key Stage 3

During this stage, students study English, Maths, Science, Geography, Life Skills, Religious Studies and History, Creative Culture (which incorporates Art, Design and Technology, Music and Drama), Urdu, French or Arabic, IT, Physical Education and Living Islam.

Year 7, 8 & 9

During Year 7, students undertake a project-based curriculum in Humanities, which includes Geography, Life Skills, Religious Studies and History. This approach is unique to MTQ and offers students the chance to experience learning and teaching that is both relevant and engaging.

Year 10

During Year 10, students study GCSE English Language, English Literature, Maths, Core Science, French or Gujarati (or OCR National ICT), Information and Communication Technology, Urdu, Religious Studies, Humanities or Geography, Citizenship and Physical Education, as well as the Living Islam course.
Students actually complete up to five GCSEs in Year 10 – Science, the two languages, ICT and Religious Studies.

Year 11

During Year 11, students complete courses in GCSE English Language and Literature, Maths, Additional Science (or OCR National ICT), Humanities, Citizenship, AS Critical Thinking or GCSE (short course) Art and Textiles or Literacy and Numeracy Support, and Physical Education, as well as the Living Islam course.
Students are also given additional time for personal study during this crucial year.

Detailed curriculum plans, schemes of work and pupil assessment procedures;

English is vital for communicating with others in school and in the wider world, and is fundamental to learning in all curriculum subjects. In studying English, pupils develop skills in speaking, listening, reading and writing that they will need to participate in society and employment. Pupils learn to express themselves creatively and imaginatively and to communicate with others confidently and effectively.


Read more

1 2 »